Updates from May, 2011 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Rachel Rixham 11:41 pm on May 26, 2011 Permalink | Reply


    Release Date: 06.06.2011
    Label: Streamlined
    Reviewed by: Rachel Rixham

    Recently being dubbed as “the man of the moment” by Armin Van Buuren, a name like Tom Colontonio does not go unnoticed, but his music, is simply unforgettable. Tom belongs to a successful new breed of DJ/Producers who have taken the scene by storm, and are giving the established globally acclaimed artists a run for their money. Tom is now on the pinnacle of breaking through to super-stardom.

    After releasing a vast number of tracks on a variety of labels such as Discover, Vandit, Conspiracy and Armada along with a number of other labels, which has kept him very busy over the past few years. He has also had appearances on most major radio shows such as PVD’s VONYC Sessions, Tiesto’s Club Life, Armin’s A State of Trance, and many others.

    Tom Colontonio’s latest offering goes by the name of Trinium: A prodigious bass blends with perfection, the soft melodious theme, tightly compact beats and meditative lines. From the word go you will find yourself enthralled as the rich hook begins to revolve around the exceedingly delicate synth-work. As the rolling bass picks up the pace an injection of fluid looping elements are introduced, filling your imagination with a potent sound-scape of endearing emotion.

    Trinium devours the senses, it plunges you in to the heart and soul of the track, where you can’t help but feel totally overwhelmed by the meticulous structure and beauteous sequence of the melody, all the while it gently rotates and curls itself in to and around your mind. As we come to an end the pounding heart wrestles to let the listener go – leaving you in total awe at Trinium’s hyperemotional power.

    Check out the preview below and make sure you grab a copy on the release date as listed above on Leon Bolier’s label Streamlined. I am going to give this track a firm 10/10! Great work Tom.

    Links of Interest

  • Rachel Rixham 5:42 pm on May 2, 2011 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: Manual Music, Paul Hazendonk, , Sound Shifting: Versatility   

    Paul Hazendonk – Sound Shifting: Versatility Reviewed 

    Paul Hazendonk – Sound Shifting: Versatility
    Label: Manual Music
    Release date: May 16th
    Reviewed by: Rachel Rixham

    CD1 – Body
    Composes funky club, mouth watering grooves and classic body-bending lines. A sublime CD that as the name claims, surges the ‘Body’ with warm penetrative electronic energy, perfect for setting you up for a night on the dance floor, and even better for chilling with friends, a couple of beers, some nice food and the beats is all you’d need to get that party in full swing. Definitely the most vibrant of the two, and constructs a nice catalogue of tracks from the Manual Music label. Watch out for the hot new track ‘Furrr & Hazendonk – Het Spierenburg Effect’.

    CD2 – Mind
    Diving deep in to the ‘Mind’, this second CD takes on a whole new persona, totally unexpected you will find yourself consumed by spiritual melodies, that glaze your focus while illustrating the deeper side to an introspective electronica. Sophisticated beats, and sweeping lines lightly fragrance the air with breathy vocals, and washy moments, all the while the mystery lingers within the warping darkside, an explosion of catapulting bass, and bone-crunching percussion lifts the pace throughout, sure to captivate a wider audience.

    ‘Sound Shifting: Versatility’, couldn’t better describe this compilation, a name perfectly suited to illustrate the different mind & body zones this compilation takes you through – both CD’s offer a different journey through the true art of sound and versatility. Great selection of tracks that seamlessly nurture there way in to the next, whilst totally consuming the eagerly compliant listener from start to finish – Very impressive!

    About Paul Hazendonk
    Paul Hazendonk was born in the suburbs of Rotterdam in 1982. As a young kid he already developed an excessive interest for music, quickly discovering house music and noticing the deejays who were mixing records together. He found his passion..

    Paul started his first label, Technique, back in 2002 whilst working at the infamous record company and store Basic Beat which was located in the heart of Rotterdam. Nowdays both Technique and Basic Beat are defunkt but Paul is more active than ever in the record business, being the owner of the Manual Music company. Manual Music releases music on various (sub) labels, takes care of artist management and bookings, digital distribution and music publishing.

    Having always been a DJ first and a producer second, it took some time before Paul got busy in the studio, but in the last couple of years his name as a producer is getting more and more known globally, after having done releases on respected labels such as Diynamic Music, Sleaze Records, Little Mountain Recordings, on his own labels Manual Music, Stolen Moments and Melomane + many others.

    Both his DJ and production style has evolved throughout the years from full on techno to a more mature sound, music with an infectious drive, blending elements of (deep) house, techhouse and techno, depending on time and place of performance.. But who cares for all those genre tags anyway, right?


    CD1 – Body
    01. Doubtingthomas – It Keeps You Occupied While You’re On The Flight
    02. Thomas Lauren – Perception
    03. Andreas Bergmann – Redeye
    04. Aebeloe – Wait For Me
    05. Furrr & Hazendonk – Het Spierenburg Effect
    06. Aron Duijndam – Kazern
    07. Lights Electronika – RA (Piek & Thinaik reinterpretation)
    08. El Catrin – Fashionably Puffin
    09. Vozmediano – El Che
    10. Bas Amro – Sunday Rut
    11. Klankarbeit – Yummie
    12. Rauwkost – Pleasure Pleaser
    13. Alexis Tyrel – Take It Slow
    14. Boris Ross – Piece Of Mind
    15. Examine – Be Square
    16. Matador – Blond Slackers

    CD2 – Mind
    01. Dual Shaman – The White Rose
    02. Lanny May – Mittelmeer
    03. North Structure – Unfulfilled Wishes
    04. Blashko – Comeback (Davor O’s return to the remix)
    05. Aebeloe – Manu
    06. PHM – Collapse
    07. Groj – Anges D’Ekhydhia (Cora Novoa remix)
    08. CardioWave – Long Island
    09. Luke Mandala & Paul Hazendonk – Sparkle Pony
    10. Roger Martinez – Moment
    11. Egbert – De Minimal Die Nu Hip Is
    12. Roland M Dill – Chocolate Brain
    13. Rolando Vallice – The 2nd Argument
    14. Noraj Cue – Mental Violence
    15. Alessandro Diga & Nappa – April’s Sun

    For more info on Paul Hazendonk, please visit the following pages:

Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc