50th release hits Outside the Box – Album Reviewed

Reviewed by: Rachel Rixham
Label: Outside The Box
Release date: 27-04-2011

The recording imprint of Holland’s rising house maestro, Outside The Box Music has rapidly asserted itself in the CD wallets of the highest echelons of the house elite.

Encompassing the distinctive sound of label founder Eelke Kleijn, as well as a bed of emerging new artists, Outside The Box is now set to unleash its 50th release in what the label deems its most creative musical package thus far.

To celebrate the imprints golden jubilee, Outside The Box have decided to release a solid ten-track EP bundle that showcases the full musical arm of the labels sound, giving an insight that features everything from melancholic beat drops, purring basslines and pulsing techy swells.

Soundtracked with singles such as the Booka Shade-esq ‘L’Equipe Du Son – Creatures of the Night’, Eelke Kleijn’s doomy cosmic ‘Kyoto’ or Taras van de Voorde‘s rich melodic techno remix of Camiel Daamen’s Make It Happen, OTB050 also features music from future producers in Daniel Leseman, Maslow & MKN, Sezer Uysal, L’Equipe Du Son, and DAVI – giving much open room for defining popularity across different tastes.

Launched back in 2006, the label has been a continual testing vehicle for pushing the electronic envelope and allowing producers artistic freedom within their releases. Positioned somewhere between dark, industrial house and moody forward thinking soundscape, the focus has always been to tread a daring line between genres with a finesse that ensures the labels identity continues to evolve along the way. Within the scope of the OTB universe, the artist collective is a strong and gifted one of emerging studio wizkids; Nick Hogendoorn, Daniel Leseman, Francesco Pico, Soulfinder and Tundra are just some of the names whose music has seen OTB pick up support from global players in John Digweed, Nic Fanciulli, Roger Sanchez and Dubfire.

Leading from the front, founder and regular OTB craftsman Eelke Kleijn has gravitated from the local Dutch tech house scene to international ranking as a formidable talent in the studio and crowd capturing DJ in the clubs. With a body of solo productions under his belt already, alongside having remixed for luminaries such as Hybrid, Way Out West and Sander Kleinenberg, his plaudits include Sasha and Hernan Cattaneo.

Review: After having the great honour of reviewing this carefully crafted album I can promise, an ocean of mind-blowing depth – soothing lines, and tightly formed beats that flawlessly nurture a melodious yet energetic playground, teaming with refreshing tech-influences, contagious wooden percussion and ample amounts of warming compassion.

This album is a real treat for any listener. The perfect addition for chilling with friends, winding down after a long day, and a superb edition for your car stereo,  you can trust that it would make that long drive all the more enjoyable.

I especially enjoyed the way each track seamlessly folds in to the next, almost as though fully respecting and appreciating the listeners presence. Each new sound takes you one step closer to a ‘breathless flight‘, that stimulates magical formations to appear in your imagination, as you willingly travel on through.

Overall: This stunning release has every right to take ‘Outside The Box‘, in to it’s 50th release, It’s a defining moment that has opened my eyes to what this label can produce. I will most definitely put this label down as ‘One To Watch‘ and wish them the very best of luck with this very impressionable release! (Make sure you check out the previews HERE).

OTB050 will release across all major download stores on April 27th 2011.

OTB050 Tracklisting:
01 Camiel Daamen – Make It Happen (Taras van de Voorde Remix)
02 Eelke Kleijn – Kyoto
03 Sebastian Davidson – Ice Worlds (Nick Hogendoorn Remix)
04 L’Equipe Du Son – Creatures of the Night
05 Maslow & MKN – Titanium White (DAVI Remix)
06 Trim The Fat – Indo
07 DAVI – Delysid (Daniel Leseman Remix)
08 Eelke Kleijn – FM AM (Logiztik Sounds & Luxor Traum Remix)
09 DAVI – Minor (Sezer Uysal Remix)
10 Eelke Kleijn – FM AM (Tundra Remix)

Links of Interest