Indepth Interview with Rachel Rixham


I was approached by a Student named Mostafa from the Misr International University in Egypt, currently studying about Digital Marketing and the benefits of Social Networking. He wanted to ask a few questions to help with his current understanding. Of course I obliged.

He asks some very interesting questions so I thought I’d share it with you.

Hello Rachel noticing the booming in Social media over the past few years, I have decided to study how this social media has been part of the marking practices and how it can be used further. Also how this way of 2-way communication that it has established has affected the people’s perception of brands in general.


  • Question:
    It is apparent you have been in the Music industry for a while now; nonetheless do still you consider yourself a fan of electronic music?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Hi  lovely to meet you – In regards to your first question yes I have been in the scene a fair while now, 6 years going on 7 infact. A fan, of course I love the music I promote and always will. If the day ever arises that I don’t , then that will be the day I change jobs I guess. It’s always good to love what you do work-wise, then you can get stuck in and give it everything you have.
  • Question:
    Which artists do you consider being your favorites?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Tricky question but to be honest I see and hear of so many new artists on a daily basis I couldn’t begin to put my finger on just a few. However, I am quite partial to the Swedish House Mafia.
  • Question:
    Can you tell us a bit about how beatsmedia.com came about?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Well, I’ve always loved music from being very young, growing up I always seemed to be around the music scene. As a toddler my father was heavy in to music too, he was a producer, guitarist, songwriter, singer, also very creative he would draw and write poetry. Many hours of my youth were spent drawing by my fathers side whilst listening to War of The Worlds and the fabulous Kate Bush.

    In my teenage years music really began to influence me heavily. I remember rushing home to catch my favourite radioshow on Radio 1, when all my friends were meeting their boyfriends and suchlike. Back then it was all tapes you had to click stop through the adverts. Funny how you miss things, I remember sticking pieces of cardboard in the holes at the top so I could record over shows I’d previously recorded. However hours were lost after the nightmare of having to wind the tape back up after my tape player had disrespectfully chewed them up!

    Later on I was a heavy club goer, the 90’s music scene was by far the best it ever could be, I’m really grateful for being a part of it. The atmospheric sets live and gatherings will be sorely missed. From then on I knew my goal in life, and that would be the music of course. To cut a long story short, I set up a radiostation in my 20’s namely Citybeat Radio. I loved it, I was my own boss and could create something unique to me, after 4 years non stop, tending to DJ’s, promotion, shows, screening and everything other. It became too much for me to handle alone, it outgrew itself and out of the ashes of Citybeat Radio came Beatsmedia.

    Beatsmedia’s goal is to promote everything EDM and possibly beyond at some point, we will see where the road takes it. The most important thing for me is to keep Beatsmedia safe within the hands of passionate music loving people. I don’t want it to ever become too cooperate. I like to bring to Beatsmedia the hard working, and genuine. People who thrive within the music scene and those passionate enough to breath fresh air in to the industry once again.

  • Question:
    What would you say has made beatsmedia.com successful in this short time period? Can you give us a glimpse on some secrets of your success?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Erm, possibly the genuine love for the music I guess, and maybe the strong connections we have, most stem right back to the days of Citybeat Radio – I have built up a nice respectable selection of contacts over the years and all of whom live for everything music, and we work very well together, so that could be a key factor.

    I would also say that it’s down to the hard work we put in to the website, we keep Beatsmedia frequently updated, and try to be a little selective about the artists in which we choose to promote.
    We still have a long way to go to be honest, I feel we are only just getting started, there is plenty more to come that’s for sure!
  • Question:
    How did social networking portals, such as facebook, help you in promoting artists as well as promoting beatsmedia.com itself?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Great question! Beatsmedia started out with the social network for promotion intention. Being an avid Facebooker and Tweeter for many years I could see the high potential from day one. However respecting your followers and treating them like real people is a must. You can’t just go in and Spam people to hell, it’s not acceptable nor is it appreciated.

    It’s all down to the social network sites like Facebook, Twitter and Myspace that we have become so quick to succeed. Social networking is a very powerful and essential business tool if done correctly.
  • Question:
    Do you think this connection artists and their fans help artists promote themselves more, or is it decreasing the artists view as an ‘idol’ among fans by the personal relation that exists?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    I think the social networking connection has blown up in the last 5 years to be honest and because of that hands on communication fans now have if you will, it has made the artists generally more popular and most definitely more successful. Many years back we would only find out about particular artists through Magazines and MTV, but we couldn’t really connect with the artist.

    Now it’s changed and I think it’s a great thing!

  • Question:
    Other than Social networking portals for promotional uses, do you consider yourself a facebook or twitter addict?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    Lol possibly, I’ve become so involved with my followers that I do miss them after a short time, I’m not afraid to admit that.
  • Question:
    As a prominent digital marketer, where do you see marketing practices going in the following years?
  • Rachel Rixham:
    I think Online Marketing will take over the world to be honest. Digital Marketing is the way forward – Plus it’s cheaper and easier to manage. Long gone will be the days of paperwork, hand-writing and messy desks.

    I welcome the ‘Digital World’ with open arms!


