Rachel Rixham Interviews Cheri Moon


Cheri was born and raised in the musical capital of Memphis, Tennessee, and began singing Gospel with her family Choir at the age of eight. Throughout her youth, she won numerous Talent contests, establishing herself early on as a budding and passionate star. Obsessed with pop culture and drawing her inspiration from the likes of Tina Turner and Grace Jones, her musical ambitions drove her to the New York club scene where she became a much sought-after performer at the historic CBGB’s, The Warehouse and the Tribeca Grand Club, amongst many others. A New York modeling agent discovered her exotic and distinguished looks in club land and subsequently contracted her to numerous national fashion shows.

Her power-house vocals coupled with her dynamic and memorable stage performance, insured a solo career thereafter, with regular live performances at the Miami celebrity hangout ‘The Forge’ and the Los Angeles ‘White Party’. Cheri is also a songwriter and three of her songs, co-written with the British Star Roisin Murphy (Moloko) were released by EMI Europe on Roisin Murphy’s album “OverPowered”, Cherialso co-wrote the Epic Ballad “Great Escape” on Kevin Rudolf’s début album “In The City” and has co-written songs with Danny O’Donoghue, lead singer of “The Script”.


  • Beatsmedia:
    Hi Cheri, hows things going for you so far?
  • Cheri:
    You know the expression, “careful what you wish for?” Yep, that’s my life at the moment. But still grateful!
  • Beatsmedia:
    I’ve been doing my research on your rise to fame and it seems you have had a very interesting musical past, from gospel singing with your family to winning many talent contests. Care to share a quick run down of your intriguing story with the Beatsmedia readers?
  • Cheri:
    I come from a “SANGING” family. You know when they say “Oh, that girl can sang”, meaning she can’t be messed with. That is a lot of people in my family. You came to our house you better be ready to either be entertained or you just join in with the choir cause there will always be some SANGING! For me as a child, I was just trying to keep up with my aunts and cousins who were singing and performing. I would go to their events and be wishing I could do the same thing.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Taking you right back to your youth, can you tell me what artists inspired you most back then, what you feel it was that attracted you to them and do you think they have helped create the sound of Cheri Moon we hear today?
  • Cheri:
    I am fanatic about Prince, Grace Jones, Earth Kitt, Annie Lennox, Madonna, Janet Jackson, Soul Singers like Tina Turner, Earth, Wind & Fire, Whitney Houston
    Most of these artists have great showmanship and that is definitely what drives me because I love to put on a show! I relate so much to them because they are not only singers but interesting characters.
  • Beatsmedia:
    When do you feel you decided that a musical career was the road to choose for you, In addition, can you remember the very first steps you took?
  • Cheri:
    Well, all I know is that every chance I got I was singing and performing dressing up in crazy clothes, putting on wigs. What else was I gonna do? Show up at somebody’s office in 5 inch stilettos, spikes and chains dangling from every part of my body and a fur thong?
  • Beatsmedia:
    Apart from singing Gospel with your family, have you had any further vocal training, if not how do you keep your voice so tip top? if so, do you have any tips you’ve picked up from your teacher in regards to keeping that voice sharp?
  • Cheri:
    For a very brief time I saw Therman Bailey (an amazing vocal coach) whom unfortunately passed away. I was devastated. He worked with some unbelievable vocalists, a lot of them opera singers. He worked worldwide but his second home was Rome, Italy. Anyway he made a huge impact on how I used my voice. Two important things that I live by is warming up before singing and on day of live performance not talking so much or not at all.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Can you tell everyone back home when you feel your first big break came along, how did you react to that, and were your parents in full support?
  • Cheri:
    I guess the first big break was becoming apart of the Timbaland camp. That was the start of training for me.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Care to share some information with us in regards to the ‘Neverdie’ club, and furthermore your quick rise to fame through a virtual world? What were the key differences between virtual fame and real life fame?
  • Cheri:
    Club Neverdie was an interesting way to keep connected to performing for me. When there were downtimes where I wasn’t booking lots of gigs , I would just sing into the mic that broadcasted inside the game when they were having events. At first, I used to play around sing for a second, crack a joke, do shootouts or whatever but then I started getting requests to sing a lot. So I did. I’d just stand around in the living room with a mic and prance around as I sang. It was funny. The high point was hooking up with Danny O’Donogue from “The Script” to co-write and record the Neverdie theme song and it kept going from there. The only thing I didn’t do was put on costumes.

PRODUCTION & METHODS

  • Beatsmedia:
    ‘Cheri Moon’, is a fantastic name can you tell us where it comes from?
  • Cheri:
    Cheri is short for Cherokee because I am half Cherokee Indian.
    But Moon has kinda haunted me since childhood. Growing up kids made fun of me because my face was so long they called me names including moon. At that time, McDonalds had a commercial where a moon headed mascot in a tux sang this song called “Mac Tonight” based off song “Mack The Knife” and so they called me that too. It became official when friend/co-producer Kevin Rudolf from Lil Wayne & Cash Money started calling me Moon.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Moving along, your track ‘House Arrest’ reached No1 on the DMC World Charts & ‘More Crazy Summer’ is currently making a huge impact on the national Radio in the UK. Can you tell us more about each track. Possibly, the production time spent for each track. Where the inspiration for the titles came from and lastly what you love most about each release?
  • Cheri:
    I was really inspired to create some timeless dance anthems; with “House Arrest” I loved the idea about a girl who got trapped on the dance floor. She just can’t stop. With “OMCS” I was dreaming about going back to Ibiza to just let it rip again! And I started screaming, “gimme just one crazy summer…”
  • Beatsmedia:
    In addition to the above question: ‘One More Crazy Summer’ (which is set to be released September 20th 2010) has been entirely funded by the sale of a virtual egg which has proved that the virtual world can provide a significant secondary revenue stream.Jon ‘Neverdie’ Jacobs’ stated: The aim with ‘One More Crazy Summer’ is not to sell millions of records, but to drive traffic to Rocktropia. Can you tell us more about the concept of Rocktropia?
  • Cheri:
    Rocktropia is the new world where artists can feel liberated and in control and feel that the music industry hasn’t completely left us. Artists today are looking for fans online and Rocktropia takes it way beyond Myspace, and Facebook.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Whilst on the subject of Jon. Could you be so kind as to share some juicy details about Jon ‘Neverdie’ Jacobs and his running documentary in regards to how he set up Rocktropia?
  • Cheri:
    Jon “Neverdie” is still a mystery I’m trying to unravel.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Inspiration comes easy for some and not so much for others, where do you find your inspiration for new material, do you have any special rituals to get you in the mood?
  • Cheri:
    I will try anything to get in the mood. Me and my writing partner Michelle Kelly like to get in the car and drive around, looking at people and things, we’ll go sit at cafes or lounges or anywhere we feel at the moment and just throw out stuff (ideas, lines, melodies) I don’t have a set formula. Ideas can come to me in the middle of a conversation, sex, sleep. I can do it anyway and anywhere.

DOWNTIME

  • Beatsmedia:
    So we’ve heard all about your past, we’ve been amused by your methods, now we all want to know more about what Cheri Moon likes to do when she’s away from the studio. Do you have any hobbies, places you love to visit to wind down and grab some much needed inspiration?
  • Cheri:
    Of course I’m a shopaholic! When there’s a good spot with a good DJ I will go out and dance till I can’t move anymore! I get a kick out of pranking people. I like to draw it out as long as I can. I want them to really feel it. Also, me and my friends pay each other to do silly things in public like go up and start singing to strangers on the street and walk away without saying a word. Usually it’s when someone is broke cuz then you could really get them to do ridiculous things like do a stupid dance all the way across the street from one avenue to the next in Times Square area in NYC in broad daylight.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Do you like to cook if so what’s your speciality dish?
  • Cheri:
    I can cook but I don’t really like to..
  • Beatsmedia:
    If you could choose one country that you felt represented your personality most which would it be?
  • Cheri:
    I’m not of this world, I’m from the moon.
  • Beatsmedia:
    What kind of festivals / events do you enjoy attending and is there any special events you’d like to check out this year?
  • Cheri:
    I love going and performing at the gay pride festivals – always a fab time. I love going to Cirque du Soleil shows. I live for all the costumes and makeup, concerts like Madonna, Tina Turner, Grace Jones. I just wanna see something outrageous!
  • Beatsmedia:
    3 things you couldn’t live without?
  • Cheri:
    Fashion, Music and Mr. London

UPCOMING & SPECIAL

  • Beatsmedia:
    What do you have in store for us in 2010, any new tracks on the fly at the moment, any events we should pencil in to our diaries?
  • Cheri:
    I feel like I wanna make some more dance classics. Some exciting songs in the works..
  • Beatsmedia:
    Where can everyone back at home find out everything Cheri Moon?
  • Beatsmedia:
    One goal you hope to achieve this year above all wishes?
  • Cheri:
    To fly everyone to the moon!
  • Beatsmedia:
    And lastly, do you have any special message for your close colleagues and fans who have been by your side throughout your career so far?
  • Cheri:
    I just feel lucky to work with amazing people like Michelle Kelly, SoulShakers, BassMonkeys, StereoJackers, Rocktropia and to have them be apart of the camp! Thanks for staying on the roller coaster with me. It’s A MOVEMENT!!
