Interview with Marcel Woods


Background

  • Beatsmedia:
    You’ve been spinning and producing for more than a decade now. Can you put into words how your sound has evolved within this period?
  • Marcel Woods:
    As I’m always listening to more styles then just one, you see that red-line through my career in my development as an artist. Sometimes I’m doing things different than people expect from me, so I just make it very difficult for myself… ha ha I just love all kinds of music, so I try to show people I’m very diverse.

  • Beatsmedia:
    Jakarta, Bali, Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Southampton, Zwolle, Helsinki are just a few cities you’ve been in the past two weeks. That’s an absolutely crazy schedule! How’s your routine on the road?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I always try to catch some sleep whenever I can, and believe me, when you have to perform on some locations like Jakarta or Bali, it’s no struggle as I always find a nice swimming pool to relax at… ha ha. But yes it could be very hard sometimes, such as last weekend, when you arrive at the airport with just 1 hour and half sleep, and then you see that your flight is cancelled! Airports and flying is a pain in the ass sometimes.
  • Beatsmedia:
    You’ve had some of your remixes spotting #1 in the Dutch Dance Chart and you’re currently number 74 in the DJMag poll. How influential can these charts be to you, music-wise?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I hate those DJ list charts, but it’s very important. So once a year I ask people (and all my colleagues) to reduce us to just a stupid number, and I think that’s crazy! We are all different, and to see some people higher in this chart than some unbelievable big names that did so much for the scene, you must admit that list is totally silly.
  • Beatsmedia:
    You’ve conquered the mastery of being the first DJ to play both White and Black editions of Sensation in 2008. What is the most challenging: opening or closing a festival?
  • Marcel Woods:
    For both you need to be on your tip of your skills, it’s very important to start with a good set so people will like you and they are really up for more, but you can’t beat the shit out of them already. And if you close down such a huge event, the people are then very tired and it’s very difficult to keep their attention. So both tasks are not so easy.
  • Beatsmedia:
    You’ve just played at Milky Way, in Amsterdam, for the Children Cancer Foundation. Was this the first time you were involved in a fund raising event? Tell us about this experience.
  • Marcel Woods:
    No I did this more often in the past, so last Monday 25th of may was sadly enough not really a good turn up, it was a long and hot weekend with a lot of festivals, so money wise not so good for the organisation.

Productions & Methods

  • Beatsmedia:
    How would you define the structure used in your sets? Has there been a moment live where things just did not go your way? Care to divulge the ingenuity used to overpower the unfortunate situation?
  • Marcel Woods:
    It’s all about experience and reading the crowd, and if things go in the wrong direction I will slightly move direction. But if it’s the case being booked at the wrong place, wrong time. It’s hard to keep things alive.
  • Beatsmedia:
    The cover of Music Madness 2 perfectly illustrates the album title, no need for further explanation. How important is the visual part on your releases and gigs? Do you take part in the design process?
  • Marcel Woods:
    For the musical madness brand it’s very important to me as it has to show my diversity in music. It’s more than just one side or genre.
  • Beatsmedia:
    MUSICAL MADNESS is a statement you created to express how you feel about the insanity your life became after you started to make success in the music industry: the DJing, the producing, the travelling, the lack of sleep, the five-star hotels. Are you still a stranger to this craziness around you or has it has become a regular part of your life now?
  • Marcel Woods:
    It’s regular today, so on the outside nobody can see that anymore. But on the inside it’s still living a dream come true scenario.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Remixes can be very time-consuming when you’re in a tight schedule. So, how do you choose the tracks you want to remix?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I’m just not doing them… ha ha I hate doing remixes, just on rare cases I take time to do a remix, such as for Tiesto’s “Escape me” single. Tracks like Zombie Nation was a cover version, not a remix.
  • Beatsmedia:
    In a interview, back in 2006, you said you loved to use Ableton to create a mix compilation because of it’s never-ending possibilities. Do you still use Ableton for your productions?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I never ever used it for productions, only for mixing compilations.
  • Beatsmedia:
    What is the elected track of choice to your gigs this summer? Share with us the most interesting scheduled dates so far.
  • Marcel Woods:
    Ibiza is the place to be this summer, and my new single ‘Tomorrow’ will raise some hands I think.


Down Time

  • Beatsmedia:
    In your down time, what music do you listen to?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I don’t listen to music in my spare time, simplybecause of the fact that I don’t have any spare time.
  • Beatsmedia:
    You’ve recently said in a interview that one of your hobbies is going to fancy restaurants. What’s your favourite dish? Have you ever tried something really exotic?
  • Marcel Woods:
    My favourite food is by far Sushi! And I really like Unagi, that’s eel…
  • Beatsmedia:
    Please, choose one place that you feel inspires you most?
  • Marcel Woods:
    Home Sweet Home…. I know it sounds boring, but it’s the truth

Upcoming & Special

  • Beatsmedia:
    What do you have in store for us in 2010?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I am busy with my first artist album which will be released later on this year.
  • Beatsmedia:
    Would you like to send any special thoughts, messages and thanks to any fans and friends that have helped you within your career so far?
  • Marcel Woods:
    I’m very thankfull to all my fans, and I hope that they will always keep on listening to music and not to just one genre. Be open minded about music is the most important not styles or names
  • Beatsmedia:
    And lastly where can everyone catch all your latest updates?
  • Beatsmedia:
    Thanks very much for joining us today, we wish you all the best for 2010 and beyond.
  • Marcel Woods:
    Thank you
